Pick of the week

Today’s pick of the week has struck a bit of a chord with me. I would appreciate any advice on this topic, but where do you get a decent freshly made sandwich in London? I have searched high and low, but so far I have only been able to find dehydrated pieces of limp bread in Tescos, Pret a Manger and god forbid Greggs’ triangular plastic.

I want a local shop staffed by charmingly forgetful pensioners who know their way around a ham sandwich. I don’t miss much about Belfast, but I do confess to missing the bagel shop beside my old work where I had been going to since school and I didn’t even need to say my order. They just knew. It was a bit like Cheers without the undertone of latent alcoholism.

Mother have created a rallying cry for provincial expats who have landed en masse in the capital and are craving the taste of home. Utilising Oasis’ appeal as an ideal addition to any lunchtime, they have transported a man’s favourite sandwich shop to outside his office in London.

Perhaps I think with my stomach, but getting a decent lunch can be the difference to a good or a bad day. Mother have looked beyond their product’s immediate credentials as a thirst quenching drink and placed it firmly in the realm of lunchtime. A charming ad that put a smile on my face, and I hope it does the same for you.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

