Witter: The digitised world of Leo Burnett London

They say the world is changing, hell! They say the world has already changed. I have 444 unread posts on the blog TechCrunch, my mum’s updating her friendships on Facebook, my little sister is sending messages on Club Penguin, my friends are battling to be Mayor of the pub down the road. My life, and those of everyone I know, are now well and truly digitised, whether it be social, shopping, information or entertainment. And where people lead, advertising will follow; especially here at Leo Burnett.

We’ve been following a program over the last 2 years of making sure that we are right at the forefront of this change, of making sure that we are a bona-fide integrated agency with all the digital know-how that requires. So when Angus, Beth and I started here 5 short weeks ago we had to make sure that we were up-to-date, and on-the-ball, tweeting and posting and blogging. Being 21/2/3 we didn’t have far to come, but as Leo’s continues on its way into the wonderful world of digital, what do the journeys of some other Burnetters look like?

Lets have a Witter.

First off; Rob Cooling aka @MrCooling, Board Account Director.

Hello @MrCooling! What are you doing right now?
Working on loads of McDonald’s ads, running a fake airline as part of a training project and trying to drink less coffee.

Why aren’t you tweeting?
Because I’m a bloke, so can’t multi-task – And I don’t really tweet about work – I know the ExCo are all now on Twitter – they’re watching

What was the last thing you tweeted?
I had a feeling it was only a matter of time: Thom Yorke gets down to “Single Ladies” http://j.mp/fJLUcj  Brilliant.

What was the world like before Twitter?
Less distracting and I probably had more actual conversations. And no-one knew just how significant/frustrating the figure 140 would become

Is Twitter the future? If it isn’t, what is?
No. Twitter is the big thing now, but something bigger, better and cooler will no doubt come along. It will most likely be video based

What should be done on Twitter that hasn’t been already?
Not much. The point of Twitter is to be short, sweet & simple. Do too much and it’s not Twitter anymore, it just starts to become Facebook

If you could have any @name in the world, what would it be?
@highlyacclaimedphotojournalistrobcooling

What would be your last tweet before you died?
#nowlistening
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2F3vXA3ELY

And now; Jessica Summerfield aka @SomeOfJess, Senior Planner.

Hello @SomeOfJess! What are you doing right now?
Writing something to explain why trust is so important for one of our biggest clients.

When did you last tweet?
A few hours ago.

What did you last tweet?
This has just happened: @danielbevis came into my office with a *Tiffany* carrier bag. He put it on @joshbullmore ‘s desk. RUINED MY DAY

What was the world like before Twitter?
(I can hardly imagine!) Quieter, less interesting. I now get to talk to people I would otherwise never have had the opportunity to meet.

Is Twitter the future? If it isn’t, what is?
As a medium Twitter is new, but the behaviour it allows us to exhibit is as old as time. People will always interact but it won’t always be on Twitter.

What should be done on Twitter that hasn’t already?
Twitter, for people and brands, is something experienced organically and personally; there is no ‘should’, only ‘could’.

If you could have any @name in the world what would it be?
@SomeOfJess!

What would be your last tweet before you died?
Now might be a good time to unfollow me.

Last but by no means least; Rachel Steed aka @Monsty, Social Media Planner.

Hello @Monsty! What are you doing right now?
I’m on the tube rifling through my blackberry responding to emails en route to the Barbican

Why aren’t you tweeting?
Because email and Power Point dominate my life between 09:00 and 19:00 Monday – Friday

What was the last thing you tweeted?
Something panicked about having my Ubertwitter restricted -I’d check now but I can’t freaking use my Ubertwitter

What was the world like before Twitter? A quieter place

Is Twitter the future? It’s certainly the now, micro-message streaming will continue, but I’m not sure it’s platform dependant. Only time and behaviour will tell.

If it isn’t, what is? Depends on space/context. Predictions: Mobile things like Path & Instagram, Cloud ideas like Diaspora & Tablets – exciting, we need 2 watch

What should be done on Twitter that hasn’t been already? Analytics. Backgrounds with clickable link options. Visibility of user photo & link trails to make more engaging visual/social bookmarking

If you could have any @ name in the world, what would it be? @Monsty< that’s me!

What would your last tweet be before you died? If  I was about to die, I wouldn’t be tweeting!

– Lorna

Leave a Reply

